Idaho, Hiking, hot springs & stupidity. 04-10-11

5 Oct

The weather forecast today was for Thunder storms, so I decided to rent a Car and go find some hot springs that were meant to be somewhere in the forest, about 50 miles south of Missoula, over the border in Idaho. Standing in the rental place it was pouring down outside, soon as I walked back out after paying the money it cleared up. Driving was weird it took some getting used to sorta like the first time I rode the bike over here.

After following highway 12 south for 40 minutes I found the trailhead:

Always ensure you are prepared with the correct footwear and equipment when entering the forest, Shorts, Jandals, check:

Its hard to tell from the cell phone pictures but there was a low mist covering all the mountain tops it was a really dense forest, full of squirrel’s and other stuff I couldn’t identify.

Always ensure the correct equipment when entering the hot pool, rental car key remote, cell phone… check. It took me an hour and a half of soaking until just as I was getting out to realize that they were still in my pocket. therefore the next pictures had to be found on the internet. The Car remote however was a sealed unit so was fine (Go the Kia!)

This was the pool I used (called the meadow pool) the other ones were nicer but they had naked old men and women in them

One of the other pools down stream:

So after I got back to the motel and had stopped being pissed off about the phone, I had a go at fixing it. I learnt previously (after being thrown in to a pool once) that trying to power on the phone is a bad idea. So I gave it a good shake pulled it to bits as much as I could and modified the motel aircon vent (the air from A/C units is usually really dry)

And today the phone works! Well its not quite normal the screen has a few dark patches but it does turn on. Pretty impressive considering it was underwater for over an hour.

Helpful tip time: So if this ever happens to you; pull the battery out ASAP, if it was not fresh water then flush it in fresh water (or rubbing alcohol) for a bit. Then you need to get it really dry before attempting to power it on, so do what I did, or if you don’t have Aircon, put it in a bowl of uncooked rice, (the rice absorbs moisture apparently.) Let it dry for at least 24-48 hours. Then put it together and try to power it on battery and/or ac power.

3 Responses to “Idaho, Hiking, hot springs & stupidity. 04-10-11”

  1. Kat October 6, 2011 at 04:24 #

    First of all, you had to look out for “Squirrel’s”, Squirrel’s what? Bushy tails? Sense of humour? Nuts?

    Secondly, I suppose you mean to say a bowl of uncooked rice, cos when I read it I was wondering how the steam would help…

    hmmm.

    • lo-fi October 6, 2011 at 11:25 #

      ahh… I was wondering just yesterday, when my spelling and grammar checker would show up (almost sent you an email to complain.)
      Yes I meant uncooked. I’ll fix it.

      • Kat October 7, 2011 at 03:58 #

        A complain about a lack of complaints? Sounds like you’ve settled into the American way of life just fine.

Leave a Reply

