Driving south from the US to enter Canada?

17 Oct

17/10/11 – Slight change of plans today, rather than heading down towards Tennessee I decided to go in to Canada, it’ s weird but due south from Detroit is Windsor, Canada!

First of all I had a look around Detroit city and Belle Isle. Belle Isle is a small island in the Detroit river. Detroit is actually a pretty impressive city with loads of cool old buildings, it must have been pretty posh back in the day, unfortunately there is a lot of poverty around now and some of the streets I rode down were just row after row of burnt out houses (and this is within a mile or two radius of the city center.) I didn’t whip out the camera in that area as I didn’t want to  get mugged.

Belle Isle, looking across the river to Detroit

The Bridge in the background is the bridge to Canada, I tried to take the tunnel but they told me I couldn’t do it on a bike. Not much difference I think they cost the same amount to cross: 4$

3 Responses to “Driving south from the US to enter Canada?”

  1. Kat October 18, 2011 at 21:51 #

    Is that it? You just cross that little bridge and you’re in Canada ay?

    • lo-fi October 19, 2011 at 16:31 #

      Yeh, I noticed they do say that a lot in Ontario, just like the Aussies & kiwis, ay bro?

      • Kat October 19, 2011 at 20:23 #

        Hehe, yeah. It keeps the conversation going ay?

Leave a Reply

