New York City 23/10/2011 -> 25/10/2011

26 Oct

Took a break from the bike for a few days and caught the overnight bus to NYC. So much to do in this city:

The free Staten Island Ferry gives you a great view of the city, Brooklyn Bridge and Statue of Liberty.

I’ve spent most of my time walking so far, which was a bit stupid, I ended up with some good blisters. I did get to check out a bunch of stuff though, like: Wall street, Times square, Ground zero, Rockefeller centre, Central park, Guggenheim Museum, Empire State building, 5th Ave and walked over the Brooklyn Bridge . MOMA was shut today but should be open tomorrow.

Making a statement… after being awarded $100,000 in a contemporary art award Hans-Peter Feldmann turned around and did this in $1 bills, it fills a pretty big room in the Guggenheim.

Sat down in Central Park to eat lunch, it’s an amazing park and HUGE:

I can see why the Occupy Wall Street protests started here, as much as I like this city there is a really noticeable gap in the way people live, everyone seems either really rich or really poor.

3 Responses to “New York City 23/10/2011 -> 25/10/2011”

  1. lloydois October 26, 2011 at 03:44 #

    Great photos Mat

  2. Erik January 2, 2012 at 06:31 #

    Hi Mat,
    such a pitty, I was in NY two days after you!

    cheers
    Erik

    • lo-fi January 2, 2012 at 16:53 #

      Yeah, I emailed you a bunch of times, wondering why you never replied to me, shame I had your email address wrong.

Leave a Reply

